Bernie Goldie

ISEM’s high-achieving graduate team

A team of graduates connected with the Institute for Superconducting and Electronic Materials (ISEM) achieved some notable distinctions at their recent summer graduation ceremony.

The graduates achieved various accolades during their PhD or Masters programs.

All six graduates have been awarded with ISEM excellent or merit awards over the past few years. 

Wen Xian Li and Shulei Chou won the prestigious Chinese Government excellent student scholarships. 

Shulei was awarded the Electrochemical Society Summer fellowship to visit the well known Professor J. Dahn laboratory for six months. And he won the  ARC Australian Postdoctoral Fellowship from 2011 to 2013.

Rashmi Nigam won the Australian Institute for Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE) research grant during her PhD which, according to the Director of ISEM Professor Shi Dou, is very rare for a student to achieve.  


  • Director of ISEM Professor Shi Dou (centre front) with successful graduates (back row): Serhy Pysarenko (PhD), Wen Xian Li (PhD), second row: Shu Lei Chou (PhD), Chao Zhong (Masters), Abbas Ranjbar (PhD) and front row (next to Professor Dou): Rashmi Nigam (PhD).