Eva Kruchio

Separate awards acknowledge women’s achievements

Dr Diann Rodgers-Healey, an Honorary Fellow of UOW’s Australian Institute of Business Well-Being, was among six finalists competing for the title of NSW’s 2013 Woman of the Year today (7 March).

One of Australia’s foremost scientists, Dr Cathy Foley, who is inspiring a generation of young girls to follow in her footsteps, was announced the winner.

Dr Rodgers-Healey is also the founder and Executive Director of the Australian Centre for Leadership for Women, a virtual centre she founded in 2000. In addition, she is an Adjunct Professor in the Cairns Institute of James Cook University.

She is a pioneer in the study of leadership theory and her PhD thesis led to the development of a co-existential leadership model in workplaces for men and women.

Dr Rodgers-Healey’s book, ‘Women’s Activism – insights for empowering women from global women activists’ , will be launched at the International Women’s Day lunch to be held at UOW tomorrow (Friday 8 March).

Dr Rodgers-Healey has interviewed the following global women activists in the writing of her book – Diane Goodwille, Anna Harris, Shamsi Kazimbaya, Justine Mbabzi, LinMcDevitt-Pugh, Suzette Mitchell, Barbara O’Dwyer, Shirley Randell, Veena Singh-Bryar, Gomathy Venkateswar, Anne Walker and Frieda Werden.

Meanwhile, the Head of UOW’s Shoalhaven Campus, Associate Professor Robbie Collins, has won a Shoalhaven International Women’s Day Award for her outstanding contribution to the community.

Awards will be presented to about 20 women at a ceremony on Saturday 9 March at Meroogal, Nowra. Meroogal has been home to four generations of women since 1886.


  • Dr Diann Rodgers-Healey . . . a finalist for NSW 2013 Woman of the Year

  • Dr Rodgers-Healey with copies of her book she launched at the International Women’s Day lunch. The books can be bought for 10 dollars through the University’s Equity, Employment and Diversity (EED) Unit

  • Associate Professor Robbie Collins . . . recognised for outstanding contribution to the community