Emilie Wells Emilie Wells
Media Resources

Emilie Wells | Media & Corporate Communications Officer,
T:02 4221 5384 | M 0427 225 657 | E

UOW Media Office
T (02) 4221 4227 | E

UOW staff recognised for outstanding contributions to teaching and learning

Twelve UOW staff have been recognised in this year’s Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Teaching and Learning (OCTAL). 

The OCTAL Awards are presented each year to staff members who have made major contributions to teaching and learning excellence within the University of Wollongong.

Alongside the overall OCTAL, a series of specific category awards for teaching and learning are also presented that recognise staff commitment, achievement and contribution to the University’s exceptional learning and student experience.

During an afternoon tea for award recipients last Monday (26 June), Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic, Professor Joe Chicharo, extended his congratulations to all staff who submitted a proposal for the Vice-Chancellor’s OCTAL Awards in 2017.

“The OCTAL Awards identify, promote and reward high quality teaching practice at the University of Wollongong,” he said.

“Being nominated for an OCTAL Award is valuable recognition from peers, students and alumni.”

In the 2017 round of awards, 111 staff members were successfully nominated. Applicants completed a rigorous application and peer review process and 11 awards were presented across a number of categories.

OCTAL Award recipients will be officially recognised at the Vice-Chancellor’s Awards Ceremony, to be held on Thursday 10 August 2017. 

2017 OCTAL Award Recipients:
First Year Chemistry Team, Vice-Chancellor’s UOW Program OCTAL Award
Annie Werner, Vice-Chancellor’s UOW Sessional OCTAL Award
Mary Barrett, Faculty of Business, OCTAL Award
Silvia Mendolia, Faculty of Business, Early Career OCTAL Award
Xun (Jimmy) Gong, Faculty of Business, Sessional OCTAL Award (shared)
Pok Tak Arthur Tsang, Faculty of Business, Sessional OCTAL Award (shared)
Montserrat Ros, Faculty of Engineering and Information Sciences, OCTAL Award
Erika Matruglio, Faculty of Social Sciences, OCTAL Award
Mariolina Pais Marden, Faculty of Law, Humanities and Arts, OCTAL Award
Brondalie Martin, DVCA Portfolio, OCTAL Award
Swapna Koshy, UOW Dubai, OCTAL Award

OCTAL Award recipients will also become eligible for Fellowship of the Wollongong Academy of Tertiary Teaching and Learning Excellence (WATTLE).
Nominations are now open for the 2018 OCTAL Awards. Click here to nominate or to view more information on the OCTAL Awards and a full 2017 OCTAL Awards Report.

Posted in Education
Tagged: Education