Media Resources


Images of 2018 Vice-Chancellor's Awards recipients are available for download via Drop Box.



Andrew Herring
Media & Public Relations Manager, UOW
T: +61 2 4221 5501 | M: +61 409 787 446 | E:

UOW Media Office
T: +61 4221 4227 | E: 

Staff achievements celebrated at 2018 Vice-Chancellor’s Awards

Academics and professional staff recognised for service to education, research and community.

More than 100 academic and professional staff have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to the University of Wollongong in the 2018 Vice-Chancellor's Awards.

The awards highlighted the exceptional achievements of UOW staff and their commitment to research, teaching and learning, global strategy, diversity, outstanding service and community engagement.

Before presenting the awards, UOW Vice-Chancellor Professor Paul Wellings CBE, acknowledged those who had gone above and beyond to enhance UOW’s excellence and contribute to the University’s vision and strategic goals across the eight categories.

This year’s Outstanding Contribution to Teaching and Learning (OCTAL) overall award for providing an exceptional learning and student experience was presented to the Academic Integrity team; Dr Ann Rogerson and Dr Lynnaire Sheridan from the Faculty of Business, Dr Ruth Walker from Learning, Teaching Curriculum, Emma Purdy from Academic Quality and Standards and Kristy Newton from the Library.

OCTAL-TEAM_600x400OCTAL Award recipients (from left): Dr Ann Rogerson, Dr Lynnaire Sheridan, Dr Ruth Walker, Emma Purdy, and Kristy Newton with Vice-Chancellor and Professor Paul Wellings CBE.

 Several awards were presented across the Excellence in Research category including Researcher of the Year, received by Distinguished Professor Antoine van Oijen from the Faculty of Science, Medicine and Health, with Senior Professor Kathy Eagar from the Faculty of Business receiving a Highly Commended Award for Researcher of the Year.

ANTOINE-VC_600x400Researcher of the Year, Distinguished Professor Antoine van Oijen, with Vice-Chancellor, Professor Paul Wellings CBE. 


The Global Strategy Award was presented to Associate Professor Stuart Johnstone from the Faculty of Social Sciences.

Dominic Riordan and Jan Sullivan from Academic Quality and Standards were awarded a Vice-Chancellor’s Special Award for their leadership of the TEQSA re-accreditation.

DOMINC-JAN-VC_600x400Special Award recipients Jan Sullivan and Dominic Riordan with Vice-Chancellor, Professor Paul Wellings CBE.


The Outstanding Service for Professional Services Staff Award was presented to Alan Champion from the Faculty of Science, Medicine and Health, Sanja Sreckovic from the Faculty of Engineering and Information Sciences, Nathan Riggir from Library Services and Tracey Todd from the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Students) portfolio.
The Team Award for Outstanding Service for Professional Services went to the UOWx Team: Kylie Austin, Amy Thompson, Jenna Thorn, Ruby Walsh, Jade Andrews and Samantha Stiff from Pro Vice-Chancellor (Students).

This year, an individual and a team were acknowledged for Excellence in Community Engagement. John Littrich from the Faculty of Law, Humanities and Arts received the individual award while the team award went to the Mogo & Mudji Team comprising Jaimey Facchin, Adam Gowen, Nicola Bath, Saskia Ebejer and Jade Andrews from the University’s Batemans Bay Campus.

Associate Professor Trish Mundy from the Faculty of Law, Humanities and Arts was honoured with the Rosemary Cooper Award, while Roza Dimeska from the Faculty of Science Medicine and Health took out the Workplace Health and Safety Award.

Thirty-two staff members were recognised for 25 years’ service to the University.

The function, held in the University Hall on August 23, was attended by 350 award recipients, guests and staff.

A full list of 2018 award recipients is available on the 2018 Vice-Chancellors Staff Awards Honour Board.