Media Releases
Kelli Wells
Media Resources


Kelli Wells, Media and Corporate Communications Coordinator, T: +61 2 4221 4841 | M: +61 448 361 008 | E:

UOW Media Office T: +61 4221 4227 | E:

Autumn graduation celebrations underway

From future innovators in medical research to those who will help shape our future society, more than 1500 students are celebrating their graduation this week.

April’s graduation celebrations feature undergraduate and postgraduate students from the Faculty of Law, Humanities and the Arts; The Faculty of Science, Medicine and Health and The Faculty of Social Sciences.

Graduation celebrations will be held at six ceremonies held over three days, from Tuesday 18 to Thursday 20 April.

Among those ready to make an impact on the world is Thomas Curran, who has completed a Bachelor of Arts (Dean's Scholar) - Bachelor of International Studies (Dean's Scholar).

During his time at UOW, Thomas’ academic results, combined with leadership, initiative and engagement in community pursuits were considered outstanding.

Thomas is the 2017 recipient of the Chancellor Robert Hope Memorial Prize, UOW’s preeminent student prize named in celebration of former Chancellor, the late Justice Robert Hope.

Among the notable research graduates is Diane Ly from the Illawarra Health and Medical Research Institute (IHMRI).

Diane completed her PhD, which focused on the human pathogen, Streptococcus pyogenes, and how it interacts with the host fibrinolytic system during invasive disease.

At 68, Geoffry Hall is the oldest graduand, completing a Graduate Diploma in Vocational Education and Training.

The impact and achievements of notable people will also be recognised through Honorary Awards. Recipients are:

Adrian Paterson, Honorary Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) – Ceremony 1, Tuesday 18 April, 9.45am

Dr Paterson is the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) and has extensive experience in national and international science, innovation and energy policy domains and the nuclear fuel cycle.

Janice Wright, Emeritus Professor of the University – Ceremony 2, Tuesday 18 April, 2.30pm

Professor Wright has made an outstanding contribution to the study of gender and social inequality in the field of education. She has been a state and national advisor on gender issues and has been influential in the adoption of more socio-critical position in state and national curriculum.

Gerald Nanson, Emeritus Professor of the University – Ceremony 3, Wednesday 19 April, 9.45am

Professor Nanson has made exceptional contributions across areas of Earth-surface science. His evaluation of river floodplain formation is now among the most cited work in his field.

In innovative theoretical research, he has developed a fully-rational model showing that alluvial rivers are attracted towards a single stable equilibrium state.

Kathy Lette, Honorary Doctor of Letters (Honoris Causa) - Ceremony 5, Thursday 20 April, 9.45am

While she is best known for her book Puberty Blues, author Kathy Lette is a fierce and tireless advocate for human rights with a quick wit and a zest for life.


Since its foundation, UOW has awarded more than 138,000 degrees and diplomas.

Posted in Education
Tagged: graduation


  • Autumn graduation celebrations